About Us

On behalf of the Tekonsha Township, Michigan welcome to our community. Tekonsha Township is a small rural agricultural community located in Southern Calhoun County, on the border with Branch County. The St. Joseph River traverses through the township, and several lakes are located within its borders.

Tekonsha Township is 36 square miles. It has approximately 1700 residents including about 700 township residents living within the Tekonsha Village limits which are located in the southern half of the Township.

Settlers began to arrive from the east coast and Europe traveling by way of the Territorial Road, which really was a trail at the time. On their way west as these settlers left Detroit on the Chicago Road. From Ypsilanti they continued west on the Territorial Road (I-94) which went directly through the counties we know today as Wayne, Washtenaw, Jackson, Calhoun, Kalamazoo, Van Buren and Berrien, and on the Sauk Trail (U.S. 12) which went through the counties of Wayne, Washtenaw, Lenawee, Hillsdale, Branch, St. Joseph , Cass and Berrien. The Sauk Trail intersected with the Jackson and White Pigeon Territorial Road (M60) where the Village of Tekonsha was established in 1836 and incorporated in 1878.

The first settler to arrive in Tekonsha Township was Darius Pierce in about 1832, followed by Timothy Kimball in about 1833. They settled in the area originally settled by Potawatomi Native Americans, members of the Algonquin Native American tribe. The Township was named after the chief of the local tribe, Tekonquasha, whose remains are buried in the Village of Tekonsha.

Tekonsha Township is ideally located nearly equal-distance from the towns of Coldwater and Marshall. With three major highways passing through the township, M60, US 12, and I-69, it is a central location for travel to larger cities. It is approximately 30 minutes travel time to Jackson, Battle Creek, and Angola, Indiana. In 45 minutes to 1 hour one reaches Ann Arbor, Kalamazoo and Lansing, Michigan and Fort Wayne, Indiana. 2 - 3 hours travel time to Detroit or Chicago.

Our neighboring communities include; Burlington, Clarendon, & Fredonia Townshps within Calhoun County and Girard Township in Branch County.

The township is governed by a five member Board of Trustees which includes a Supervisor, Clerk, Treasurer and two Trustees. All five members are elected to serve a four year term.

The township is currently served by three school districts; Homer, Union City and Tekonsha, as well as the Calhoun County Intermediate School District (CIS) and Kellogg Community College (KCC). All three districts participate in Schools of choice and utilize the Calhoun County Intermediary School District, and Kellogg Community College programs to provide additional services and opportunities to their students.

The township also boasts of a Library, three Churches; the Union Church, the Baptist Church and the Church of God, several service clubs, a weekly newspaper, and a local history museum supported by the Historical Society, a fire department and ambulance service.